Skip to main content

Governance

 

Members of the United Way Board of Directors provide mission-based leadership and strategic governance. This is done in partnership with the Executive Director, who is responsible for day-to-day operations.

The board’s members collectively define and implement the mission, vision and values of the United Way, based on their understanding of the assets, needs and goals of Benton and Lincoln counties, and their residents. Board members are United Way’s most important links to the community, and are essential and important volunteers. 

The board also carries the fiduciary responsibility for United Way and ensures it operates within bylaws and policies adopted by the board. Members are elected by the Board; they may reside in either county. They assure that the finances of the corporation are handled prudently and legally; approve and monitor the annual operating budget; approve allocations and grants; ensure compliance with tax and corporate law; and establish and monitor financial policies and practices. They are elected to three-year terms.

United Way Board Members also consider United Way a philanthropic priority and make annual gifts that reflect that priority.

UWBLC Board of Directors 2017-18

Bazzano, Justin

Board President

    2017-2019

Interim Treasurer

   Term: 2014-2017

Branch Officer/Credit Analyst

Citizens Bank

PO Box 30 | Corvallis, OR 97339

bazzanoj@gmail.com

boardpresident@unitedwayblc.org

Getman, Randy

2017-1-year term

BBSI District Manager

1610 North Coast Hwy | Newport, OR 97365

Randy.Getman@bbsihq.com

Gilmour, Taylor

Term: 2016-2018

Assistant Vice President-Central Operations

Samaritan Health Services

815 NW 9th, Suite 136 | Corvallis, OR 97330

tgilmour@samhealth.org

Helfrich, Daniel

2017-1-year term

Hellifire Insurance

PO Box 437 | Lincoln City, OR 97367

hellfireinsurance@outlook.com

 

Larson, Amanda

2017-1-year term

Community Volunteer

Amandajlarson82@gmail.com

 

Manley, Aaron

Term 2014-2017

Development Review Supervisor

City of Corvallis—Public Works Department

PO Box 1083 | Corvallis, OR 97339

Aaron.Manley@corvallisoregon.gov

Nicole Jenkins

Term 2016-2019

Loan Assistant

Citizens Bank

275 SW Third Street | Corvallis, OR  97339

njenkins@citizensEbank.com

Ted Smith

2017-1-year term

Newport Public Library

35 NW Nye St | Newport, OR 97365

t.smith@newportlibrary.org

Shay, Neil

2017-1-year term

Professor, Oregon State University

Owner/Operator:  Bluebird Hill Cellars

25059 Larson Road |  Monroe, OR 97456

Neil.Shay@oregonstate.edu 

UWBoardBLC@unitedwayblc.org

Read our financials

Read our Diversity Statement